Key Lime Tart (Duchess Cookbook)


Most of you may know me to be someone who’s quite biased towards desserts that are rich and chocolaty, but one dessert that I love is the key lime tart at Duchess.  So when I got their cookbook and saw the recipe in there, I had to make it!  I know I had mentioned it before, but I have to say it again – I really love how accessible their recipes are.  If you don’t own it, I definitely recommend it!

To make the crust, I used my Kitchen aid food processor to grind up the graham crackers to make the crust – I was able to get a really nice fine texture that was easy to press into the pan.

The butter, sugar, and graham crackers to make the crust.
  

Crust pressed into a 8″ tart pan.  The crust gets baked first.

The rest of the ingredients are simply combined in a bowl and whisked until well combined.  1 tbsp grated lime zest, 2 egg yolks, and 1 can of condensed milk.  Whisk that together.

Then add a half cup lime juice.

Whisk that into the mixture.

Pouring the mixture into the baked tart shell.
  

IMG_9276

Duchess had cautioned that baking the tart in such a large pan might result in some uneven baking with the edges being overcooked before the center.  I do notice that the edges are a bit wrinkly however I was still pretty happy with the result.  If you see that little crater in the middle, it was because I made the mistake of covering the tart with saran wrap, which took off a little portion in the middle of the tart.  Otherwise, the tart baked to a really smooth finish.

I can’t say that I mastered the finesse that Duchess has, but this tasted REALLY close to the real deal, so I was really happy about that, and I’m looking forward to trying out the other recipes in there.  Enjoy!!

img_0577

 

Leave a Reply!

