Winnie the Pooh Macarons (tsum tsum style)


IMG_9679

Pretty cute hey?

If you follow my blog,  you knew the drama I went through a couple years ago in trying to perfect making the french macaron.  I’ve now been saved.

If my love for E-town wasn’t enough, it grew even more when one of my fave spots in town, Duchess, came out with a cookbook, which I decided to get.

I gotta say, I really love that cookbook because the ingredients are accessible (and if not, you know you can get them at Provisions), and the few recipes I’ve tried gave me really awesome “Duchess quality” results.  AND their macaron recipe renewed me with hope.

Up until the cookbook, I found I could only make decent macarons using the italian method, which is a more tedious in that you have to boil up a sugar syrup.  However Duchess’ french method recipe I found has given me the BEST macarons yet with a lot less work!

The beginning steps are quite similar to the other french methods.

IMG_9547
Whipped egg whites with the food coloring before incorporating it into the almond flour
IMG_9548
Combine egg whites with the sifted almonds and powdered sugar.  Gently fold ingredients together until just combined.

The biggest difference was on how I macronaged.  Rather than constantly folding the batter with a spatula until it reached the lava like consistency that every macaron maker strives for, the recipe instructed to pour the mixture into a large round bowl and repeat the actions of smearing the batter along the bowl, and scraping it back into the middle of the bowl as a way to slowly deflate the air out of the mixture, until it reaches that lava like consistency.  What a difference it makes!

IMG_9550
Smearing the batter in a large round bowl and scraping it back into the middle with a plastic scraper. Repeat and repeat!
IMG_9551
The lava-like consistency I aim for piping out the shells.

I was inspired by all the kawaii macarons floating around on the internet so decided to take a stab at them myself.  I decided to start with a simple shape; the adorable Winnie the Pooh.

I had piped out larger round circles at the top for the years and the little round circles at the bottom to mimic his paws, but when they baked up some of the paws disappeared.  Oops.  For every shell I piped with ears and paws, I just piped a plain circle one next to it for the back.

Freshly baked, feet and all.

Once baked up, I pressed my thumb into the back half of the shells so that I could get more filling in there when piping.  I do this while the shells are still warm, they are less to crack on the outside.

With the other half, I took an edible black felt marker and drew on the face.

Super cute!IMG_9566

IMG_9564

And there you have them!  Pretty simplistic shapes for maximum cuteness.  Definitely will be making these again.  Have fun making (and eating) these!

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    Hi Lydz! Love your blog and how it’s totally relatable! I just started baking French macarons and have tried both the French and Italian method and it both turned out a fail 😦 I read your blog and seen that I’m having the exact same issues as when you first started! I will have to give your Italian method recipe a try. Perhaps where I also went wrong is I didn’t use a candy thermometer!

    Did you use the same Italian method for these macarons (Winnie Tsum Tsum)? Was the only thing you did different was your macaronage technique that you picked up from Duchess? Thank you so much!

    1. Thank you Tammy, that’s so awesome and encouraging to hear! I would definitely recommend a candy thermometer if you want to use the Italian method, because the rising temperature tends to plateau before it reaches the boil point in my post so it might be shy of the temperature you’re aiming for. I only know this because I had a thermometer to sshow me that 🙂 As for the Winnie Tsum Tsum macarons, I used the recipe from my Duchess cookbook, which is actually the french method (so NO sugar syrup), plus also that macaronage technique in the cookbook as well. I have to say that not only is it much easier, but it’s the best resulting macron I’ve made to date. I don’t get the hollow shells and they age really well and get nice and chewy! I hope that helps!!

      1. Tammy says:

        Thanks Lydz for taking your time to respond! I did a 4th attempt the other day using the Italian method recipe (that was posted on your other macaron blog). I did the steps using a candy thermometer and also the macaronage technique that you mentioned for Duchess. They looked MUCH better once I piped them onto my Silpat, they held its shape and barely looked like they had any bubbles before I popped them into the oven. I took them out and they looked a lot better than my other attempts, however, when I went to take them off of the mat, a lot of the shells were very hollow inside, causing them to pretty much crack apart when I went to remove them! They also tasted more crunchy (I think maybe the temp was a little too high or I left them in a little too long). I will pick up the Duchess book today and try that recipe and the macaronage technique in the French method. Ugh….. I hope it’ll be a better progress than the last 4 attempts lol! Thank you so much for your time, I really appreciate it and will update you!

        1. A test I do to see if they are done are like I mentioned in my post about wiggling the caps and if they slide around from the feet then it’s not done yet. That’s usually my check. I would definitely try the Duchess method in helping you with the air bubble situation, and make sure your batter is a lava consistency where it should be able to slowly slide off your spatula. Keep at it, you will get there one day and let me know how they go 🙂

  2. Erica says:

    What is the name of that cookbook? Your last blog on macarons left me winded! I didn’t think I could attemp a macaron so I continue to pay the hefty price… Please post the name and author if possible. Great job!!

    1. Hey Erica! It’s called the Duchess Bake Shop by Giselle Courteau, I believe you can get it at Chapters! Hope you find it, it’s great!

Leave a Reply!

