Letterpressed sugar cookies


IMG_2007My dear friend Joanna decided to do a late night cookie bar that would come out during the dance party following her formal wedding reception.  You know I’m all about cookies, and I had done one for my own wedding as well!

She asked several of her gal pals to each make 4 dozen of a single type of cookie; I was asked to make 4 dozen sugar cookies.

I’ve never covered cookies in fondant before but thought it would be a nice time to try.  With having to do 4 dozen of a single type, I felt covering cookies in fondant would give me more consistent results, also allowing me to do some designs that I thought would be pretty for a wedding that I can’t achieve with royal icing.

As her wedding colors were teal and gold, I wanted to do a debossed impression on the fondant with some gold accesnt.

I had a letterpress style plate, which I cleaned up, made up of the word “love” in various fonts and sizes.

IMG_1871

Each of the cookies measured 2″ square.

IMG_1824I prepared my fondant.  I used about a 50/50 blend of homemade marshmallow fondant and Wilton Fondant.  I enjoy the taste of the marshmallow fondant but since I don’t make it too often I was concerned it wouldn’t be at the right consistency, so the store bought fondant gave me bit of forgiveness, while the marshmallow fondant contributed to a more “marshmallowy” taste.

I tinted it with the Teal Americolor gel paste.  The perfect shade for her wedding.

IMG_1868

I dusted the surface and my rolling pin with powdered sugar and rolled out the fondant about 1/8″ thick, slicing them into 2″ squares to fit the cookies.  A pizza wheel cutter was the perfect tool!

IMG_1870

I then patted some more powdered sugar onto the square cutout before flipping it upside down onto the letterpress plate.  It takes a bit of practice, but be sure you impress the fondant well enough to get the image, but not too much that you tear the fondant.  It also helps to dust some (or lots of) powdered sugar on the plate as well.

The easiest way for me to remove the fondant square after it was impressed, was to turn the plate upside down and let gravity bring the corners of the fondant off the plate, and GENTLY pull off the impressed fondant square, so that you aren’t stretching it too much.

IMG_1872

With a food safe brush, cover the surface of the cookie with a light amount of corn syrup.

IMG_1873

And gently place your fondant on.  (Oops, you can see in the picture below that I didn’t press the fondant evenly enough on the plate.)

IMG_1869

Again, it just takes practice.  As I kept on going, I got more consistent impressions.  After all the cookies were covered and had a chance to set a bit, I went back to the beginning cookies and with a mixture of edible gold dust and lemon extract, brushed the gold onto select words of the cookie.

IMG_1874

Repeat 47 more times 🙂

IMG_2012

Everyone’s cookies looked absolutely darling placed on the different platters, and fun was had by all at the wedding.  The bride and groom looked so fantastic, and we had a great celebrating with our two dear friends embarking in their new lives together.

Congrats J and C, we love you!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jo says:

    So much work went into making these very tasty and beautiful cookies! Seriously- wow! Thanks so much for your time, love and energies. Best emcees ever! We love you too!!

Leave a Reply!

