Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars


IMG_8843

Who loves peanut butter? *raises hand*

Who loves jelly? *raises other hand*

Who loves peanut butta and jelllayyyy? *throws both hands in the air*

So consider me tickled pink when I found a super simple recipe for Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars on Martha Stewart’s website.

It’s simple because the base of the bars and the top crumbly stuff on top is actually the same batter, but you wouldn’t really know it when you eat it.  The only difference is the bottom is pressed flat as the base, and the top is just all crumbled on top.

So…if you’re allergic to peanuts, you miiiight wanna stay away from these.  Just sayin’.

The directions are simple enough, beat the butter and sugar.

IMG_8815

Add the eggs and the PB.

IMG_8816

IMG_8817

And get that madness together.

IMG_8818

Whisk together the dry ingredients, and slowly incorporate it in the PB/butter madness.  I’m pretty sure I heard my Kitchen Aid mixer begging slightly for mercy at this point.  This recipe makes a LOT and it was almost spilling out of my mixing bowl.

IMG_8819

Take 2/3 of the dough and press it into a greased pan lined with parchment paper.

IMG_8820

Spread your jam over the top with an offset spatula.  I admit I was a little short on the jam on the recipe, but I have a feeling even if I had enough according to the recipe, I’d probably put more on anyways to get a nice thick layer of it.

IMG_8821

And then you take the remaining batter and crumble it all on top, with some chop salted peanuts to give it some crunch.

IMG_8822

Pop it in the oven for 45 minutes, and voila:

IMG_8823

Let them cool in the fridge so that they’re easier to cut.  I let mine sit in the fridge overnight, and cut them into as big or as little bars as you want!  And enjoy!

IMG_8826

This recipe makes a lot; as the recipe suggests, you can get 36 bars out of ’em.  I was expecting to take home leftovers but they must’ve been a hit, cuz I ended up coming home with a clean, empty pan.  🙂

Wow, I just had a thought:  What if next time I spread on Nutella instead of jam?

…….yes.

Leave a Reply!

