Creating a Stone Background for Cookies


When decorating cookies for that “chalkboard” effect, I typically decorate them on a dark grey/black cookie background.  However the other day I came across a really easy way to create a stone background, which I thought added an extra element of sophistication.

IMG_8169

While in the middle of making my dark grey icing, I looked at the bowl and thought “hm, what would it look like if I slopped that icing on my cookie right now?”

IMG_8100

So I did.  And on top of that, I added an additional dab of white coloring to make sure I had some really distinct streaks of white.

IMG_8101

Then all you simply do is take a little decorating spatula like this:

IMG_8106

and really loosely spread it around, but not too much that you end up blending all the different streaks.

IMG_8102

Then take that same spatula and drag the icing in one direction:

IMG_8103

And then drag it back in the opposite direction, and keep doing so until the icing smooths out like this:

IMG_8105

IMG_8107

Let that fully dry and decorate as you wish.  On top of being a big baker, I also love other types of crafting, so I used a Stampin’ Up! stamp image as my model for this cookie.

This cookie will be making it’s way to my friend for her birthday, a fitting statement for her!  Have a happy Friday!

IMG_8159

Leave a Reply!

