My New Love: My Kopykake Projector


Some call it an x-ray machine you’d see at a dentist office.

Some call it a crazy microscope.

Some call it something right out of a Star Wars movie.

But most call it the Kopykake 300XK.  I, however, just call it awesome.

As a birthday treat to myself (saying that things are birthday treats always justifies the cost of things, doesn’t it?), I recently acquired this little gadget to my pile of baking tools and supplies.  I had been eyeing it for a while, but I never felt I could justify the purchase, except for those wee hours of the night when I would be meticulously piping something intricate freehand, which would cause me to cry out “WHY DON’T I HAVE A KOPYKAKE PROJECTOR???”

Well cry I shall no more.  After 2 weeks of obsessively tracking the status of my projector (to the point that I had my tracking # memorized), it finally came perfectly packaged.  I ripped into the box, assembled the pieces, stood back, and gazed upon it.

IMG_7502

Holy crap, it’s ginormous.

So like, just a note of caution here.  This projector is no joke, and the picture made it seem a lot smaller than it really was, so much that I thought it was something I could slide underneath my pantry shelf.  Not to say the size of this thing makes me regret it, but readers, I warn you, ensure you allocate some space for this baby.

I went with the most basic model, the Kopykake 300XK, and it suits my needs fine.  You can buy additional accessories that allow you to enlarge/reduce the pictures to more extreme scales, but again, something I didn’t feel I needed.

Werk it:  It’s easy to use, all you do is print off the image you want to trace, slap it into the machine, and away you go.  It took a few attempts to accurately understand how to change the scale and focus of the image, but I think I got it down now.

the two black metal clips on the left swivel around on it's hinges so you can put your various sized images on there.
the two black metal clips on the right door swivel around on it’s hinges so you can put your various sized images on there.

You can adjust and lock the box at various heights of the pole, as well as adjust the length of the lens to fine tune the focus.  Then just dim the lights in the immediate area you are working in if you want a sharper better image, and you’re ready to go.

Adjustable lens.   you put the lens side down if you want to reduce the image, and invert it if you want it enlarged.
Adjustable lens.  Put the lens side down if you want to reduce the image, and invert it if you want it enlarged.

My first attempt using the kopykake was to do a hockey jersey for my husband’s birthday.

I hand cut the cookie and placed it under the projector with the image of Taylor Hall's jersey.
The hand cut cookie, baked and placed under the projector with the image of Taylor Hall’s jersey.
Orange icing piped first.
Orange icing piped first.
Then white.
Then white.
Then the rest of the jersey in blue.
Then the rest of the jersey in blue.
Finished with piping the details, including the number, and the writing.
Finished with piping the details, including the number, and the writing.

My two cents:  The projector doesn’t make decorating instantaneous, there’s still a ton of work that goes into decorating.  And no, it’s not a magical tool, the projector only takes you so far; at the end of the day you still need to have just as much of a steady hand to decorate, and an understanding of the ingredients you work with.  However, it does streamline the process and eliminates the guesswork if I’m doing more intricate images.  It also gives me the confidence to do more intricate images you wouldn’t attempt freehand.

The final verdict: I absolutely LOVE it.  Much like what I would say to Ryan Gosling if he appeared on my front door: “Where have you been all my life?”

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply!

