Mini fish cupcakes


Sorry, I should probably clarify, I meant to say that I made fish themed cupcakes. Although in my culture, I’m pretty sure cupcakes made of fish wouldn’t be that far of a stretch.

Moving on.

My friends daughter, Jaslyn, recently turned 2, and I was there not only to celebrate in the festivities, but to bring a cupcake order that mommy Becca had requested from me.

I didn’t have much to go on, and I had asked Becca if there was a theme or anything I could do with it, and she said that Jaslyn liked fish. Alrighty then. I decided to make little cupcakes decorated with cute little goldfishes swimming on top.

Starting with the goldfish, I began by mixing up a batch of royal icing tinted with orange and using a larger round tip, I piped out the body, fins and tail. After letting it harden a bit, I used a smaller round tip to pipe the little fin on its back.

Once it REALLY dried, I then went in and piped little white dots for their googly eyes.

And once it really REALLY dried, I used some food coloring to paint in the pupils, as well as some orange coloring on the fins and tail. And you wind up with a little somethin’ like this:

One fish.
One fish.

I kept the cupcakes simple by making a vanilla cake bottom, kept in it’s natural color since I thought it could resemble sand, and I whipped up a vanilla buttercream icing tinted blue for the water.

IMG_6497

I piped the blue buttercream so that it resembled waves in the water, and then plunked the little goldfishes on top. And nothin’ wrong with adding a little dragee to resemble bubbles, or pearls, or whatever your imagination desires.

IMG_6515

And the whole school of them, ready to go.

IMG_6511

IMG_6510
Fat ones, little ones, long ones, short ones.
IMG_6519
“So, you come here often?”

The cupcakes fit in nicely with the fish themed party and Nemo decorations. And it looks as though the birthday girl enjoyed them too 🙂 HAPPY BIRTHDAY, YOU CUTIE!

*grins*
*grins*
2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply!

