Beach Themed Bridal Shower Cookies


Say this with me ten times before you read on:

She sells sea shells on the sea shore.
The shells she sells are sea shells, im sure.
And if she sells sea shells on the sea shore,
Then l’m sure she sells seashore shells.

IMG_6142

Inspired yet?

My friend and I recently received an order for some “beach themed” treats for a bridal shower.  I would take care of the cookies, and my friend was in charge of the cupcakes and cake pops.

I’ve never made beach themed cookies before.  “What would be ‘beachy’?” I wondered.  “What is the meaning of beaches, what is the meaning of life?”

After a bit of playing around, I came up with these four sketches.   And some of these sketches would also become my cookie template.  High-tech, I know.

IMG_6089

Making the round shapes were easy enough with my circle cutter.  The seashell and starfish were a bit tricky, but patience and a sharp small knife is key (not to mention a mat to protect your counter from nicks and scratches, unless you’re going for that distressed look which is all the rage.)

IMG_6101

Shapes were cut them laminated to ensure no pencil bits would get through.
Shapes were cut them laminated to ensure no pencil bits would get through.

I would also use my fingers to pat any stray dough bits back into place to keep the shape smooth.

Shapes ready to go in the oven.
Shapes ready to go in the oven.

IMG_6108

Started with the sand dollar.  Piped an outline of icing and the 5 holes inside, before filling it everywhere else in between.  Once it dried, I piped the flower design in the centre (shown in a later photo)

IMG_6109

With the shell, I piped in phases, allowing time to dry in between that way you could get those different textures.

IMG_6110

IMG_6111

IMG_6112

IMG_6113

The starfish was outlined and flooded.  Once they dried I piped on little dots to mimic the texture of the starfish (shown in a later photo)

IMG_6115

IMG_6116

The beachscape was also done in phases first with the water, sand, and the waves.  PS: Skor Bits = delicious tasting stones on cookies.

IMG_6117

IMG_6118

I needed to wait until the icing firmed up before I did the ocean waves.

IMG_6123

IMG_6124
Use a clean dry brush to “drag” the white icing out.

Random trivia moment:  The song “California” by the Canadian group “Wave” was pretty much my anthem for all of 2001-2005.

Wanting to kick it up a notch, I decided to go in and add a bit of dimension using some food coloring and my brushes.  It’s pretty awesome how much a difference that can make, and has been a technique I’ve been picking up more since the Oilers cookies I did, which was decorated entirely with food coloring gels.

Finished iced cookies as they are:

IMG_6125

And after some touches of food coloring and the brushes:

IMG_6138

Close ups of the cookies:

IMG_6141

IMG_6142

IMG_6143

IMG_6144

The whole pan:

IMG_6150

And packed up and ready to go:

IMG_6157

I’d say these cookies could put anyone in a beachy mood; now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go make a pina colada and put on my SPF 30 despite the fact that it’s 9 pm and I’m in my PJs.

Don’t judge.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karolina says:

    These cookies look unbelievable! Great job!

Leave a Reply!

