Spiderman Comic Book Cover Cookies


So…you know how I thought the Oilers cookies I made took me a long time to make? Well…compared to these, it was child’s play:

I bought these cookie cutters at Williams Sonoma the same time I bought the Marvel and Star Wars cookie cutters. I thought that it was a perfect time to make these cookies for my new hubby’s bday, considering how big of a fan he is of superheroes. I like this kit because you can mix and match the different poses and phrases in the cover and as such get some customization out of it (which I’m all about). 10 points, Williams-Sonoma, you guys did it again!

Btw, would it be super inappropriate me if I made a plea right now for Williams-Sonoma to come up with Harry Potter cookie cutters?

Moving on.

1) Roll it and bake it: I used my tried and true sugar cookie recipe, and made the cookies using the various elements that came in the cookie kit. May I also add that I love this rolling pin:

Rolling pin of epic-ness
Rolling pin of epic-ness

I bought it at Michaels when I took a fondant class there and I love how it’s just one giant smooth roller with no handles, and how wide it is, perfect for rolling out larger sheets. The other great thing I love about this roller is that it comes out with these rubber markers of different thicknesses, which allows you to roll out your fondant / dough evenly. It’s the only roller I use now.

The freshly baked cookies.  You can notice the few Spiderman faces I with some of the smaller scraps of dough.
The freshly baked cookies. You can notice the few Spiderman faces I made with some of the smaller scraps of dough.

2) Ice it: After letting the cookies cool overnight, I went and spread a thin layer of royal icing over the entire cookie, that way I had a smooth base layer for me to paint on with the food coloring gels. Using a thinner icing also helped because then I wouldn’t lose the detailed indentations in the cookie which would serve useful later on when painting on the images. Don’t worry, the indentations disappear once you ice it and people will think you did it freehand.

"barely there" icing.
“barely there” icing.

It’s not cheating, it’s assisting.

3) Age it: I decided I wanted to take advantage of the golden brown cookie peeking through the white icing, and so decided to make these look more like “vintage” comic covers. Once the thin white icing dried, I ramped it up a little bit by mixing in some yellow and brown food coloring gels, diluting it with water, and lightly brushing the entire cookie surface with it. The more uneven the better; distressed and vintage looks are never even, (just watch Antiques Roadshow.)

my beginning sketch of Spiderman (with the yellow food coloring wash behind it).
my beginning sketch of Spiderman (with the yellow/brown food coloring wash behind it).

4) Sketch it: Once that dried, I went in with a thin small brush and some diluted food coloring and lightly sketched the outline of the character, again using the indentations as a drawing guide. For those details that might’ve been lost in the baking process, I would sometimes refer to the actual cookie cutter press for those details.

I was in for a long night.
I was in for a long night.

5) Paint it!!: Once that was outlined, I started to fill in the respective colors.

the basic red and blue.
the basic red and blue.

I also added the little details at the top.

20121221-205058.jpg

Then I did some outlining. There is no particular order that you need to do this in. I tend to do left to right, top to bottom with the rest of the details to prevent smudging. However I found I liked doing the characters first, as my hand will get more tired as I progress with the cookie and I’d rather tackle the hard part first.

20121221-205111.jpg

I then added the title of the cover (I always found this tricky).

20121221-205127.jpg

A tip to do this without smudging the images: gently place a dry paper towel over top the rest of the cookie, and let the hand rest on top. That way the moisture and warmth from the hand wouldn’t risk smudging the image. The last thing we need after spending a half hour drawing those guys is for it to wind up as a temporary tattoo on the side of our palms (though that would be pretty bad-ass.)

Then the action bubble.

20121221-205151.jpg

I personally found the cookie a bit bare left like that, so I thought it’d be fun to add a cityscape background.

20121221-205204.jpg

Then finished it off by drawing a quick black border around.

And thanks to all the different elements that the kit came with, it allowed me to make different styled covers:

IMG_4908

Although the Williams Sonoma box that the cutters came in had the cookies decorated with piped icing, I personally chose the painting because I wanted to do a lot more details; there’s no way I would’ve been able to do that with piped icing. Maybe one day.

My approach with the Green Goblin and Dr. Octopus was no different. A quick glimpse:

IMG_5028

IMG_5030

IMG_5032

IMG_5021

IMG_5023

J totally loved them and brought them to work to share and said they were a big hit, which I was stoked to hear. Hopefully they don’t go too stale, as he mentioned that many of them didn’t want to eat them.

I guess if they decide not to, they always can incorporate it as decor for a Spiderman themed bathroom, like we do in our basement.

20130404-202516.jpg

Can you tell J “decorated” this? I’ll need to do something about that.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I LOVE this project and am always amazed by your patience! You are a brilliant baker indeed!

Leave a Reply!

