Fun with Fondant – Week 4-nalie


Did that pun make sense?  Finale.  Fournalie.  Nevermind.

Anyways.  It has all come down to this: covering an entire cake with fondant.

Our last class was a bit of a work period – our instructor basically showed us how to cover a cake with fondant and a few simple decorating techniques we could do with fondant (like borders, shapes, etc).

Once again, I found myself in a position of being over ambitious and wanted to do a ‘fancier’ cake for a dinner party on the weekend and have the cake presentable enough to serve for dessert.  With that being said, I actually ended up covering my cake with fondant by myself the day before my class, and just spent the class continuing on my decorating of the cake so that I could finish on time.  I know, I live on the edge.

I decided to make a chocolate cake with a vanilla buttercream layer in the middle and the same covering the cake.  I used a chocolate cake recipe I found off allrecipes.com that I’ve used in the past and found tried and true.

Chocolate cakes, in their 8″ pans.

I baked the two cakes, let ’em cool, leveled off the rounded top parts of the cake (my nieces ate those up, they were there that evening) slabbed icing inbetween the two layers, and dirty iced (as taken from Buddy off Cake Boss) aka, crumb coated, the rest of the cake.  Our instructor said that putting this buttercream makes it way easier to apply fondant onto the cake, and also gives it something to adhere to.

Two layers stacked, with vanilla buttercrem between the two layers, and dirty iced all around with the same.

After letting the icing dry a little bit, I rolled out my marshmallow fondant that I had made the day before.  I used another recipe off allrecipes.com.  I would definintely make marshmalllow fondant again.  It tastes wayyy better than the packaged stuff (it literally tastes like marshmallows, as it should, seeing as it’s pretty much made up of melted marhsmallows and powdered sugar).  Plus, I figure if I’m going to cover an entire cake with this stuff, it better taste good.  You could say that I’ve become a bit of a fondant convert since this.

Lesson learned: the way I mixed the marshmallow fondant was a mess and would not advise anyone to do the same. I had tried mixing everything into the bowl, which made everything uber sticky.  The next time I make this I’ll pour out the melted marshamllows onto the table with the pile of powdered sugar, as I saw many youtubers do (and should have probably researched ahead of time), and knead it straight on the table.  It seems a lot less messy and a bit easier to mix.

I rolled my fondant to about 1/4″ thickness, but I think next time I would try to make it thinner.  It wasn’t too thick or anything, but if possible I’d like to see what thinness of fondant I can get away with on a cake before it rips.

After watching numerous youtube videos, I followed the method of ‘hanging’ the rolled fondant off my rolling pin like a towel, and draping it over my cake.  It seemed like the safest way to get the fondant centered on your cake without it ripping.  It was a success.

Whoo!

After smoothing out the fondant and trimming off the excess, I started with the decorating.  I was inspired off Maggie Austin’s ruffled cakes, which I think are beyond crazy awesome.  Her ruffle cakes literally look like thin sheets of crepe paper stacked on top of each other.  Badass.

So I wanted to do my version of a ruffle cake.  Again referring to the internet I got a rough idea how I could maybe approach it, and decided to ruffle it top down; doing the top layer, the next and etc.

With the ruffles, I made a 50/50 mixture of my homemade marshmallow fondant and the prepackaged gumpaste I got at Michaels.  I learned that it’s the gumpaste that allows u to stretch and manipulate ur fondant to the textures you want (like these ruffles).  Marshmallow alone wouldn’t be doable, it wouldn’t dry hard enough nor have the flexibility to be pulled so thin.

Gettin’ my ruffles on.

By the end of the first evening, I completed about half of it.  (Oh yeah, I also wanted to do a gradient from white to pink, top to bottom).

Am I done yet?

I then took my last Wilton class to finish up all the ruffles, which I managed to do  😀

Cake with all the ruffles on.

So I saran wrapped the cake and kept it in the fridge till the day of the dinner, but not without adding some carnations on the top for a finishing touch.  My carnations were kind of screwed up because I was in a bit of a rush, but oh well.

Overall I was really happy with how my final cake turned out, considering that it was the first time ever I covered / decorated a cake with fondant.  The fondant was also good at keeping the cake and buttercream inside moist.  I wished I had taken a picture of the inside slices of the cake but I totally forgot.

I didn’t eat the ruffly parts as it was too hard and sugary for my liking (I advised the other guests the same), but I ate the rest of the cake with the marshmallow fondant and totally dug it.

So that concludes my 4 week series of Fun with Fondant with Lydz.  Mainly becuase I have no more classes to go to.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Megan says:

    Looks gorgeous! Did you have any issues when cutting the cake? Did the ruffles break off or get all crumbly? I’m making my friend’s wedding cake and she wants ruffles so I want to make sure when theyre cutting the cake for pictures it won’t catch them by surprise 🙂

    1. Thank you Megan! I didn’t have any issues cutting the cake, but yes, the ruffled pieces will break off as you slice downwards.

      For pictures, they can probably just position the camera angle to not capture the part they are slicing so that the ruffles shown are still in tact, and then just feed each other the cakey part doing the traditional “bride and groom feeding each other/starting food fight” picture. 🙂

      Good luck, and I’d love to see your finished product!

  2. Tails says:

    Well done! Its really beautiful and probably, thanks to your inspiration, will be my next fondant decor attempt. Just need to get gumpaste here in South Africa (shouldnt be difficult).

    As for the fondant, you can mix it in a bowl, just spray your bowl, spatula, hands, everything with nonstick spray. I put marshmallows in a greased bowl, added my 2Tbls of water and melted in the micro, and then when it came out, I added some powdered sugar and mixed with a spatula til it wasnt so all over the place (for lack of a better term). Then I tipped it out onto a counter with more powdered sugar and continued to knead it.

    Also, fondant cakes dont need to be kept in the fridge, so long as the filling wont go off quickly (I leave my buttercream cakes out of the fridge too, but my buttercream is made with all butter so it can be left out). If you do refridgerate it, then dont touch it after it comes out, as the fondant will have condensation on it as it comes to room temp. Just leave be and it’ll be fine 🙂 But I’m sure you didnt have issues with this.

    Again, love your cake! Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. Thank you so much for the tips, that will definitely come in handy for the future projects, and greetings to South Africa! 😀

Leave a Reply!

