Steamrolled Cupcakes


No, these cupcakes have not been steamrolled.

I bought these cupcake cookie cutters at Crate & Barrel in Calgary a while back and had been waiting for a chance to use them.  I love cookies.  I love cupcakes.

This was bound to happen at some point.

The perfect occasion presented itself when I was invited to a friend’s birthday party and thought these would be fun to bring.  I have to say, that these were a nice break from the Marvel cookies I had recently done.

After baking them and letting ’em cool, the first thing I did was pipe the outline.

After outlining all the cookies, I went back to the first one and started flooding the “icing” part of the cupcake cookie.

The next day I went ahead and flooded the bottoms of the cookies, and then did the cherry on top as well.

Right after piping on the cherry, I did a dab of white onto a toothpick and swished it into the still wet icing to give the cherry a “reflection.”

I decided to take it a step further and give it a bit of depth by using my brushes with some food coloring to shade the bottom parts of some of the icing.

It was a bit of a learning curve, I had to be careful not to get my brush too wet otherwise it would make really solid streaks on the icing.  Gross.

And there you have it.

The cookies were consumed,we were eaten alive by mosquitos on the patio, but the weather was great for a post-meal campfire.  Both the birthday girl and her dog Twist dog got a chance to steal a couple bites of a cookie as well.  And since both woman, and woman’s best friend seemed to enjoy them, I hereby consider my mission accomplished.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Vicky says:

    How did u do trhe outline of the cookie? They are all the same, surley you had a format?

    1. Hi Vicky, I didn’t have a template to trace, but it was just something I did free hand and kept repeating. I did the swirly top first working from outside in, and then would do the “cupcake bottom.” I hope that helps?

      1. vicky says:

        I hope so too. I want to try it out soon.

  2. eese says:

    They’re so cute!

Leave a Reply!

