Square Salad.


I was off to a Canada Day party and seriously, what better way to celebrate Canada than to make a carrot cake with cream cheese icing in a lame attempt to use up leftover buttermilk, coconut, and cream cheese icing from coconut cupcakes I had recently made?  Nothing.  Absolutely nothing.

I managed to find a carrot cake recipe that called for buttermilk.  Not only that, I decided to make the cake extra moist by also pouring a buttermilk glaze over the carrot cake before slathering on the cream cheese icing.  I called it my version of the “moist maker,” (as inspired by Ross Gellar off Friends.)

I got the cake recipe off allrecipes.com, impressed, because it called for not just carrots, but walnuts, crushed pineapple, shredded coconut, and raisins (hate raisins, so left those out).

Wet and dry ingredients all sorted into separate bowls, ready to rock and roll.
Mixed batter, and bowl of the shredded coconut, walnuts, shredded carrots, and crushed pineapple (sans raisins.)
Final batter, all ready for the oven. Really thick since it’s chockful of all that that stuff.

I baked the cake just under 45 minutes since I had poured it into a much larger pan.  While the cake was baking, I decided to start on the buttermilk glaze, as I wanted to have it ready to pour on the cake as soon as it came out of the oven.  It was a simple glaze I pulled from the internet as well.

Glaze was a lot thinner than I expected it to be.

Once the cake was done, I immediately divided the cake in half down the middle to assist in it’s cooling process, and to allow for more places for the glaze to seep into.

I let the cake cool overnight and iced it the morning of the party.  That glaze definitely was a moist maker; I almost broke one half of the cake when stacking the layers.  If you decide to use a moist glaze on a cake that is thin to begin with, delicacy is key.  I slapped on a good amount of icing between the two layers, then started slappin’ on the rest all over the top and sides.

The only sandwiches that should exist should be ones like these.

The finished product, with the rest of my shredded coconut sprinkled on the top, and literally thrown at on the sides (the only way I can get it to stick.)

Lift with your legs and not with your back: this cake felt like it weighed 5 lbs by the time I was finished.

Due to the nature of the icing, this is definitely a cake that should be kept refrigerated until it’s ready to be eaten (especially on a hot day like the one we had on Canada day.)  I noticed even as I was icing it how much runnier the icing got the longer it sat out.

The party was fantastic, the fireworks were bad-ass, and the company was nothing but great.   All in all, it was a Canada day celebration that I was thrilled to be a part of, but nothing made me happier than being able to bring home an empty cake caddy.

I’m pretty sure the cake went as fast as it did due to it being just so healthy.  I mean, it had carrots, pineapples, coconut, and walnuts, pretty healthy stuff.  Practically a salad in a square.

And, well, we’ll just ignore all that sugar and butter I used.

Cake carcass.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jo says:

    um. the cake was um, yeah, like um, super delish. um yeah. and I agree. The company was um, like um pretty great 🙂

Leave a Reply!

