Making the Rosette Cake


IMG_8420

My good friend Lindi asked me to make a mini rosette cake (like a 4″ round) for her adorable daughter’s 1st birthday smash cake, and I was all over the idea.  I decided to do a practice round just to make sure I got it right so made a larger version for a gathering I had hosted (featured above).

The cake featured above is a lemon and jam layered cake with raspberry buttercream all around.

1)  Due to time constraints, I went with the Betty Crocker lemon cake mix to speed up the process. Honestly, I love cake mix, it’s so quick and i’m just as happy with these cakes, and you can always jazz them up yourself.  I happen to grate some extra lemon zest and added some extract into mine to give that extra oomph.

2)  I divided the batter evenly into two 8″ round pans that were greased and floured, and once the cakes baked and cooled, leveled off the tops, and dusted off any crumbs.

3)  Get some of your prepared buttercream icing and slap some onto your cake board so that you can adhere your bottom layer of your cake to the board.

Also, notice the damp paper towel between the cake board at the turntable?  That’s a trick I learned to keep the cake board from sliding around on my turntable when I spin it.

IMG_8386

As for the buttercream icing, I found this AWESOME RECIPE from I am Baker, and you can find the recipe here.  Seriously, she rocks my world and has a great post on doing the rosette cake as well.

Tint it with your favorite food coloring gels (I happen to use Americolor Gel Paste), and flavoring (in my case, raspberry extract)

IMG_8387

4)  I spread on a thin layer of icing on each side of the cake before I spread on the jam to form a bit of a barrier, that way the jam won’t completely soak into the cake.

IMG_8392

You know, you really could just eat it like this, like an open face cake-wich.  But we won’t.

5)  Then you put the other layer on top.

IMG_8394

6)  And then you do your crumb coat.  Great thing with this cake is that you don’t have to have a perfect crumb coat since you’ll be covering it with roses.

IMG_8395

7)  Drop your Wilton 1M piping tip into a decorating bag and spoon your icing into the bag.  I start with the side roses first and work my way around, then make my way to the top of the cake, working from the outside perimeter towards the middle of the cake.

How to go about piping your roses: start by squeezing out some buttercream in the centre of where you want your rose, then in a slow counter clockwise (or clockwise, whatever you prefer) motion, gradually spiral your icing outward from the middle of where you started, allowing your icing to slightly overlap the inner spiral to get the layered petals look of a rose.  If you get a bit of a “tail” when you release the tip from the icing as you finish your rose, you can lightly wet your finger and dab it back towards the flower.  However, it’s best if you make sure to just attach the tail to the edge of the rose before you pull your icing tip away.

It helps to have a stiffer icing, especially for when you pipe your roses on the side of the cake to prevent the layers from sagging downwards.

Also, if there’s little gaps  peeking through in between the piped roses, you can create the illusion of it looking fuller.  I like dabbing little piped stars in between..

IMG_8402

As my first attempt, I was satisfied with the outcome, but I did learn a few tips about how to better pipe the roses, and to perhaps stiffen up my icing consistency that I’ll remember for Lindi’s cake, so stay tuned!

IMG_8400

2 thoughts on “Making the Rosette Cake

  1. Pingback: Mini Rose 1st Birthday Cake Smash | Cookies and Cravings and Calories, Oh My...

  2. Pingback: Mini Rose 1st Birthday Cake Smash! | Cookies and Cravings and Calories, Oh My...

Leave a Reply!

